Oasis of the Seas Review – Part One

We had the opportunity to tour the Oasis of the Seas recently.  This is the first of three blogs on this ship.

I must say going in I was very curious because I thought there was no chance I would want to sail on this ship or her sister ship, Allure of the Seas.  I mean, these are massive ships!  It takes three Majesty of the Seas ships to equal the size of the Oasis of the Seas!  If you put the Disney Magic and Disney Dream together, they would still be a little smaller than Oasis of the Seas.

As a group, we had some difficulties getting onboard quickly, but it looks like those embarking for their cruise didn’t have any trouble.

I do have to say one negative that I noticed with many of the newer cruise ships.  It is difficult unless you are upon the pool deck to realize that you are on a ship.  The atriums and Royal Promenades are more closed in than I like.  I like seeing the ocean going by while I’m walking through the ship.  This, however, will not stop me from cruising on these ships!

When we entered the ship, I felt like I was entering an upscale mall.  We came in to the middle of the Royal Promenade. Here you will find shops, eateries and bars.

Looking up to Central Park from the Royal Promenade

Bottom view of Rising Tide

Sports Bar

Pub

The Coffee Bar

Entering the Boardwalk Area

The AquaTheater

Lounge outside of the Main Dining Room

Main Dining Room

Central Park

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Todd C on September 26, 2011 at 7:31 AM

    There is a carousel on board? And trees? This looked more like a new twist on a rejuvenated Main Street than a cruise ship.

    But I won’t judge too much until I’ve seen it in person.

    Reply

  2. Yes, there is a carousel on board plus a park with trees and plants. It was amazing. I agree that many parts of the ship don’t seem like a cruise ship, which can be a plus!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

