I’m Too Excited To Sleep

It doesn’t matter where we go or what we are doing, just before a trip I’m too excited to sleep.  Even more so when Disney is involved.  I didn’t get to sleep until nearly 10:00 last night and here I am at 3:00 am wide awake.  I could try to go back to sleep but the alarm is going off in an hour and fifteen minutes.  What if I don’t wake up?  Did I remember to set the alarm?

I laid in bed for a while, trying to go back to sleep.  It’s not like this is a cruise vacation we are going on or a trip to Walt Disney World (at least not yet), so why does this affect my sleep?  I’m not getting up earlier than I normally would on a weekday, it should be a leisurely trip to the airport this morning.

It’s been a couple years since we flew out of Madison so this will be a nice change.  Only 20 minutes to the airport instead of an hour and a half to Milwaukee.  I didn’t do online check in, but our seats are already selected so I guess that doesn’t matter.  We’ve got a bag to check anyway so it’s fine.

I wonder what I should blog about today?  After all, we’ll be flying this morning and then going straight to CruiseWorld 2011 so I won’t have a chance to blog until tonight.  I don’t think I have time this morning to do a quick blog, or do I?  Maybe if I get up 15 minutes earlier than the alarm.  Can I do that?

It’s going to be 80 degrees Fahrenheit today!  I’m so looking forward to the warmer temperatures.  It’s hasn’t been too miserable yet.  We were spared from the snow this last weekend.  In fact, it reached the mid-60s yesterday, but the temperatures are going to drop a bit again.  I’m pretty sure I packed a swimsuit….

The hotel will be within walking distance to the convention center.  Our flight gets in just before 1:00.  Are we going to make it to the 2:00 session?  That’s calling it pretty close, but on the other hand, the airport is only a few minutes from the hotel.  We’ll be right on the water — on the intracoastal waterway.  In fact, the water taxi has a pick up right outside our hotel.  We may plan to take it one evening and check out the area.

As long as we’re going to be in Fort Lauderdale for a few days, we need to check out some other hotels, including ours, for a pre-ToaD Oasis of the Seas sailing hotel.  We’ll be very close to Port Everglades with the entrance just beyond the convention center.  We should be able to see Oasis of the Seas and Allure of the Seas from our hotel!

We also have a friend who lives just north of Fort Lauderdale that we’re going to try to get together with.  How long has it been since we saw her?  I think it was the 5 night sailing in 2008!  Wow, it’s been a long time.  That will be lots of fun though.  Maybe I should bring a little toad gift for Christina?

The best part of the trip is that we’ll get up to Walt Disney World at the end.  Will I have this much trouble sleeping the night before we go there?  I’ll already be on vacation, so will I still be too excited?  Of course I’ll be excited!!  We are going to try to get to all four parks in 26 hours!

Too much going on in my head to try to get a little more shut-eye!  Fort Lauderdale, here I come!!

One response to this post.

  1. ! DISNEY WORLD !!

    I find the best way to get to sleep…

    ..is to give up trying to get to sleep!

    Spending effort in trying to sleep doesn’t help me relax!

    ..and if I start thinking OH! I must sleep!..

    ..then I don’t relax.

    ::

    So, if you want to get to sleep – give up trying to get to sleep!

    Try to let your mind wander. Enjoy simply relaxing.

    Hope this helps – have a great time at Disney World!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

