Disney Fantasy Float Out – January 8, 2012

I couldn’t possibly bring myself to set my alarm clock for 4 am on a Sunday, but I did tell my husband if he woke up anytime after 4 am to wake me up.  At 4:37, I woke up and started up the computer.  It wasn’t good enough to just watch the live feeds on my laptop.  Instead I hooked up the laptop to our big screen TV so I could actually feel like we were there!  All of this for the float out of the newest ship in the Disney Cruise Line® fleet, the Disney Fantasy®!

For those of you who slept in or for those that just want to relive the experience again, here are some videos and photos of the event.

Do you see the hidden Mickey in the pictures above?

How about now?  Turns out this is a pipe of some kind, but it certainly looks like Mickey while the Disney Fantasy was backing out!

Mademoiselle Minnie greeted the awaiting crowd.

For those standing back, a fireworks display next took place.

Here is a video of the entire process.

For some of the best pictures, Andreas Depping does an amazing job.  Here is a link to his photos of the event.

While all of this was going on, we had a different angle with Meyer Werft’s own webcam.

This wasn’t just a float out event.  There’s work to be done!  Notice the mast being lowered in the above photo.

It’s said that when a ship sets sail that it is good luck to have dolphins around the hull.  I bet it is also good luck when a ship floats out to have a rainbow appear at the stern of the ship!

One response to this post.

  1. Had a great time watching the float out, the Fantasy is a beautiful lady!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

