My Awesome Bar Program

The Carnival Victory has been testing a new program this month.  What do you think?

For $42.95 per person, per day, plus 15% gratuity, you will get unlimited beer, wine and mixed drinks priced under $10.  You can also get a 25% discount on drinks priced over $10 (individual drinks only, not packages).  The package must be purchased for all adults in a cabin so there is no sharing of the package.

So for just under $50 a day, per adult, you don’t have to worry about spending too much at the bars.  Other cruise lines, like Celebrity and Royal Caribbean, already have unlimited drink packages as well.  Celebrity offers a number of packages starting at $14 per night for a Classic Non-Alcoholic Package up to $54 per night for a Premium Package (plus 15% gratuity), but do not have a restriction that all adults in the cabin must purchase.  Royal Caribbean offers three packages on just a few ships and are comparable.

I personally have a problem with the soda packages when I am on a cruise line that offers this as I rarely drink enough to make the package worthwhile.  I certainly cannot see myself having at least six alcoholic drinks per day, every day on a cruise (on our last cruise, drinks we had were approximately $9 each).  To make the package beneficial, that’s what I would need to do.

What are your thoughts on this?

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Susan on August 23, 2012 at 5:47 AM

    Why would anyone pay that much? That’s a lot of drinking! And the non alcoholic package aren’t sodas free? They are on Disney.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Jodi on August 23, 2012 at 6:01 AM

    I love that Disney has the unltd drink station – especially when you have kids. To worry about them having to pay for a juice/soda would suck. As far as the all you can drink alcohol? I don’t think it’d be worth while for someone like myself, I’d be sleeping after $30 worth, no doubt. But I suppose it’s a good option? Also depends on the type of beer….lol

    Reply

  3. Posted by Robin on August 23, 2012 at 7:05 AM

    I usually buy the soda package when on RCCL, but there is no way I would drink $50 a day worth of alcoholic beverages.

    Reply

  4. Posted by Ellen Nied on August 23, 2012 at 8:12 AM

    I have kept my last few on board account charges for the last few DCL cruises….one was 5 night…one was a 4 night….and one was a 7 night…..My hubby and I like to go in the afternoon and have a drink or two in Cove Cafe, and a drink with dinner and possibly a drink at the club at night and after adding up our last few bar bills…..I can’t justify buying this package.

    Reply

  5. I think it’s awful! They are forcing people to be drunk that buy this program! And what about if one spouse is pregnant or is an alcoholic, or just doesn’t drink- they are forcing that person to get a drink package? There has to be a better way to keep people from sharing drinks. Perhaps make it so the person has a waiting period in between drinks. The 2nd reason it is awful- it will create more drunks than they already have onboard. If i purchased it, I would do the cost-benefit analysis- $50 a day at up to $10 a drink- I would NEED to drink more than 5 drinks a day to make it beneficial. (Not to mention if I had to drink enough to cover the expense of my non-drinking spouse’s package.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

